An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth

Author: Chris Hadfield

Colonel Chris Hadfield has spent decades training as an astronaut and has logged nearly 4,000 hours in space. During this time he has broken into a Space Station with a Swiss army knife, disposed of a live snake while piloting a plane, been temporarily blinded while clinging to the exterior...

Available From Amazon

How to Develop Emotional Health – School of Life series

Author: Oliver James

Outlining the five elements of good emotional health – insightfulness, a strong sense of self, fluid relationships, authenticity and playfulness in our approach to life – James offers strategies for optimising each characteristic to live more fulfilling lives. Helping us to understand the impact our emotional baggage has on our...

Available From Amazon

Kids and Co.

Author: Ros Jay

This author tried applying business principles to childcare in an amusing and thoughtful way.  The result is something that just might boost your resilience.

Available From Amazon

Self Compassion

Author: Kristin Neff

Self Compassion offers a powerful solution for combating the current malaise of depression, anxiety and self criticism that comes with living in a pressured and competitive culture.

Available From Amazon

Ultimate Confidence: The Secrets to Feeling Great About Yourself Every Day

Author: Marisa Peer

Marisa Peer’s tried and tested programme is an effortless way to maximise your potential and overhaul your whole outlook on life for the better. Her powerful hypnotic language and effective techniques mean that just reading the book enables you to change negative thought patterns and break harmful habits that have...

Available From Amazon

The Big Leap: Conquer Your Hidden Fear and Take Life to the Next Level

Author: Gay Hendricks

In The Big Leap, Gay Hendricks, the New York Times bestselling author of Five Wishes, demonstrates how to eliminate the barriers to success by overcoming false fears and beliefs. Fans of Wayne Dyer, Eckhart Tolle, Marianne Williamson, and The Secret will find useful, effective tips for breaking down the walls...

Available From Amazon

How to Deal with Difficult People

Author: Gill Hasson

Whether it’s a manager who keeps moving the goal posts, an uncooperative colleague, negative friend, or critical family member, some people are just plain hard to get along with. Often, your immediate response is to shrink or sulk, become defensive or attack. But there are smarter moves to make when...

Available From Amazon

Resilience

Author: Webb, L.

A light read and with some useful resources. Easy to digest; an anecdotal and practical guide with lots of common sense advice from a “happiness guru”. 

Available From Amazon

Cognitive Behavioural Coaching Techniques for Dummies

Author: Whitten, H.

An interesting take on CBT and how this powerful technique can be used in the Mind part of the Mind Body Balance equation!

Available From Amazon

Towards a Psychology of Being

Author: Maslow, A.

The 1962 classic.  Still as relevant as ever. There’s a strong argument that we need more “being” and less doing in order to stay resilient.  We are more than our most recent achievements!

Available From Amazon

The EQ Edge, Third Edition: Emotional Intelligence and Your Success

Author: Steven J. Stein

Authors Steven J. Stein and Howard E. Book show you how the dynamic of emotional intelligence works. By understanding EQ, you can build more meaningful relationships, boost your confidence and optimism, and respond to challenges with enthusiasm–all of which are essential ingredients of success. The EQ Edge offers fascinating–and sometimes...

Available From Amazon

Emotional Intelligence: Why it Can Matter More Than IQ

Author: Daniel Goleman

In some ways this was the book that kicked off the whole EI debate: the groundbreaking bestseller that redefined intelligence and success. Does IQ define our destiny? Daniel Goleman argues that our view of human intelligence is far too narrow, and that our emotions play a major role in thought,...

Available From Amazon

Thriving on Pressure

Author: Graham Jones

Available From Amazon

Resilience

Author: Liggy Webb

Available From Amazon

The Natural Way to Treat Depression

Author: Puri, B.K.

There’s a lot of criticism of current methods of treating depression.  There are three main kinds of antidepressants, all of which have their own problems. The oldest kind, called tricyclics, such as amitriptyline (Tryptizol) and imipramine (Tofranil) commonly cause drowsiness, dry mouth, constipation, sweating, dizziness and blurred vision. Selective serotonin...

Available From Amazon

Transitions: Making Sense of Life’s Changes

Author: William Bridges

It’s really important that you understand that the process of personal change has some distinct tasks and steps.  This book describes them very clearly.

Available From Amazon

About

This site is maintained by two individuals who wear more than one hat – be it consultant, psychologist or psychotherapist – so you should expect to find a wide range of materials that are all about how people learn, perform and grow. Chris and Jackie founded Sixth Sense Consulting Ltd in 2010. We provide assessment, leadership development, team building, career transition, psychotherapy, and wellbeing services to individuals and organisations. Our aim is to share materials and resources we use in our day to day work with others in a digestible and practical format.

Connect

Use social media to stay up-to-date with us.

This website uses Cookies to improve your browsing experience. View Cookies Policy

I'm fine with this